Nozyk Synagogue:
Warsaw, Poland

 

The Nozyk Synagogue is Warsaw’s sole surviving synagogue used before the Holocaust. It was built in 1902 by Zalman and Rivka Nozyk and stands as a reminder of Jewish life in Warsaw. The building was damaged during an air raid in 1939. It survived WWII because it was used as a warehouse and stable by the Nazis. After WWII the building was partially repaired and restored but it was only completely rebuilt and reopened in 1983 with the addition of the annex. The synagogue is still used for prayer and gatherings today.

The interior of the synagogue looks grand as is typical of old European Synagogues. The Aron Kodesh (Holy Ark) is a work of art and the detailed design throughout the building is impressive. The main sanctuary was for the men and the upstairs gallery was for the women with a total seating capacity of 350.

 

Posted: January 7, 2018

Address:

6 Twarda Street

 

Phone Number:

+48 22 620 43 24

 

Price:

10 zloty, people coming for prayer are not obliged to pay for entrance.

 

Hours:

Open to tourists: weekdays – 9:00-20:00; Sundays – 10:30-20:00; Fridays – 9:00 until an hour before candle-lighting. Closed to tourists on: Friday nights and Saturdays; Jewish chagim (holidays); during prayer-times on weekdays; and during special events in the middle of the week. On Polish holidays open 10:30-20:00.

 

Website: http://warszawa.jewish.org.pl/en/religion/nozyk-synagogue/



Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when we have special things to share? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.