Majdanek Concentration Camp:
Lublin, Poland

The Majdanek Concentration Camp in the Southeast outskirts of Lublin was our first experience of seeing the grounds of an actual concentration camp and the remnants of the gas chambers and crematoria.

Majdanek was built in 1941 originally as a camp for prisoners of war. In February, 1943 it was renamed and changed to a Concentration camp. For the first year and a half the camp only had male prisoners; then in 1942 a women’s camp was added. The inmates were mostly from Poland, Czechoslovakia and the Soviet Union although there were also prisoners from France and Germany as well.

Almost 80,000 of the 150,000 prisoners that went through the camp died from hunger, illness or were murdered or gassed. The corpses were then sent to the crematorium to be burned.

When we visited we saw the outside of the gas chambers, the outside of the barracks. We entered the building where the crematorium was located and saw the big monument that is said to have ashes in the center. The visit was gut-wrenching but was definitely more solemn and easier to get into the frame of mind than visiting Auschwitz-Berkinau

The Museum at Majdanek offers guided tours. Visiting the Majdanek is free. Guided tours are available in Polish, English, German, Spanish, Russian and Ukrainian (from time to time some languages may not be available) for a fee. The approximate duration of the guided tour is 2–2.5 hours. Reservations can be made at http://www.majdanek.eu/pl/guides

 

Posted: December 23, 2018

Information, prices and hours posted here are current as of the posted or updated date. It is advisable to call ahead or check online to confirm hours and prices. 

 

Address:

Droga Męczenników Majdanka

67, 20-325

Lublin, Poland

 

Phone Number:

+48 81 710 28 33

 

Website: majdanek.eu

 

HOURS-WINTER SEASON (NOVEMBER-MARCH):

Historical area and facilities: 9.00-16.00
Historical exhibition (barrack 62): 9.00-16.00
Visitor Service Center (books, guides): 9.00-16.00

Details of opening hours and a list of available facilities can be found in the visiting calendar .

 

HOURS-SUMMER SEASON (APRIL-OCTOBER):

Historical area and facilities: 9.00-18.00
Historical exhibition (barrack 62): 9.00-17.00
Visitor Service Center (books, guides): 9.00-17.00

Details of opening hours and a list of available facilities can be found in the visiting calendar .

On Mondays, the Museum is closed (public areas and historical facilities are open to the public).
Last admission to the Museum an hour before closing time.
Last admission to permanent exhibitions: half an hour before closing time

 

Price:

Admission to the Museum is free. Fees are collected for the guide service and for using parking lots.

Group tours in Polish for up to 10 people: PLN 100

A group of up to 30 people in Polish: 150 PLN

Group tours of up to 10 people in foreign languages: PLN 200

Group tours up to 30 people in foreign languages: 300 PLN

For entering the Museum and using parking lots: buses – PLN 40, buses – PLN 15, passenger cars – PLN 5, motorcycles – PLN 2